Tags

, ,

We’re having a snow day here in Maryland!

Snow Day from Inside

A Maryland snow day – note that the grass is still easily visible. 🙂

This means that J is home from work. Woo! And this means all sorts of fun. Minnie can go play in the snow with J, and with two parents home we can take turns doing wonderful things (baking, video games, tidying, projects galore!) without having to simultaneously earn a nomination for a daytime Grammy for our Baby Vaudeville routines.

First up: Pannukakku (Finnish pancakes).

I’m not sure if I’m at liberty to share my husband’s aunt’s recipe here, but here’s a Pannukakku recipe from the Internets! It looks more difficult than mine maybe I’ll try it sometime when I have the time and the butter.

For our recipe, you just melt 3/4 stick of butter in the baking pan in the oven while mixing together a thin batter in the blender. Dump the batter in, bake a bit, and voila.

So I mixed up my batter…

Finnish pancake batter

Finnish pancake batter

And then I went to the fridge to grab the butter to melt in the pan. There was a butter box… with no butter in it.

No problem. Just go to the freezer and tap into the lifetime supply of butter I had purchased over the past couple of months to stock up for the holidays.

No butter.

We have no butter. And thanks to 1/2 inch of snow, the grocery store we can walk to is almost certainly sold out. And due to the 1/2 inch of snow and a general public accustomed to driving in Maryland (i.e. with no clue how to drive in snow), we will not be driving anywhere today.

I think I went through the stages of grief on this one – “No, we can’t be snowed in without any butter!” “If I could just find a little butter… I’d make cookies for the neighbors and not even eat any myself!” and so on.

I used the 1/2 stick on the counter for the Pannkaku and tossed it in the oven. And I (grudgingly) accepted that cookies could not be on today’s agenda.

Pannukakku, ready to be baked

Pannukakku, ready to be baked

Then, I calmly blogged about it so as to make the best of an annoying but really not-that-bad situation.

And before I knew it, it was lower-calorie Pannukakku time.

IMG_20131210_093655_801

Puffy Pannukakku at first

Pannukakku, deflated

Deflated and ready to eat!

 

